2019 Macondo Awards names Best Picture finalists


The Colombian Academy of Cinematic Arts and Sciences – ACCAC – has released the titles of the features, documentaries, and shorts competing in the 2019 edition of Macondo Awards, the country’s most important recognition of filmmaking talent. After screening 25 Colombian, and 9 Ibero-American films submitted to the 540 Academy jury, three finalists have made the grade in 18 categories. A total of 21 statuettes will handed-out at the Macondo Awards on November 9 in Medellín.

The film with the most nominations – 12 including Best Picture – is Pájaros de Verano (Birds of Passage) by co-directors Ciro Guerra and Cristina Gallego. Somos Calentura by Jorge Navas comes in with six, and Candelaria by Jhonny Hendrix with four.

In the category Best Ibero-American Film is Roma by Alfonso Cuarón (Mexico), Las Herederas by Marcelo Martinessi (Paraguay) and La Familia by Gustavo Rondón Córdova (Venezuela).

The finalists for Best Short Film are: La virgen negra (Contravia Films/Los Notarios), María de los esteros (Cinespina) and Tierra mojada (Monociclo). In the Best Documentary category is Daniela Abad’s The Smiling Lombana (Producciones la esperanza), Homo botanicus (Casatarántula) and La mujer de los 7 nombres (Aramos Cine and Rhayuela Films).

Making the Best Director’s cut are Vladimir Durán with Adiós Entusiasmo, Cristina Gallego and Ciro Guerra for Pájaros de Verano, and Daniela Castro and Nicolás Ordoñez with La mujer de los 7 nombres.

For Best Screenplay are María Camila Arias, Jhonny Hendrix, Abel Arcos and Carlos Quintela for Candelaria, and María Camila Arias and Jacques Toulemonde for Pájaros de Verano.

The Best Actress nominees are Verónica Lynn (Candelaria), Carmiña Martínez (Pájaros de Verano) and Silvia Varón (Cómo te llamas?). And for Best Supporting Actress Natalia Reyes (Pájaros de Verano) is joined by Victoria Hernández (El Silencio del Río) and Loren Sofía Paz (Niña Errante).

The leading men in this 8th edition of Premios Macondo are Alden Knight for this poignant portrayal of Victor Hugo in Candelaria, José Acosta in Pájaros de Verano and retired boxing champion Manuel Álvarez for El Piedra.

From Best Art Direction to Costume Design, Soundtrack and Cinematography, in the category Best Original Music are three strong contenders: Juan Carlos Pellegrino (El Piedra), Alejandro Ramírez (The Path of the Anaconda) and Camilo Sanabria (The Smiling Lombana).

The Macondo Awards will be broadcast live from the Caja de Madera at Plaza Mayor, and made possible with support from the Mayor’s Office of Medellín, Cinematography Directorate of the Ministry of Culture, Proimágenes Colombia and Cine Colombia.

Follow the event as it happens on social media with hashtag #MedellínEsMacondo.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here