Macondo Awards: Here are the 2018 nominees

The Macondo Awards get underway Saturday, November 17 at the Ágora International Convention Center in Bogotá, where 17 statuettes will be handed-out by the Colombian Academy of Arts and Cinematographic Sciences (ACACC) to the most accomplished directors, producers, cinematographers and a star-studded cast of actors.

Nineteen films released nationwide in theatres between July 2017 and June 2018 are competing for Best Picture and categories such as Best Soundtrack, and Best Costume Design among others.

The nominees for Best Picture in this seventh edition of the Macondo Awards: La defensa del dragon; Matar a Jesús; Sal; Siete cabezas.

Nominated for Best Director: Clare Weiskopf and Nicolás Van Hemelryck for Amazona; Laura Mora for Matar a Jesús; Rubén Mendoza for Señorita María, La Falda de la Montaña and Santiago Caicedo for Virus tropical.

Nominated in the Best Screenplay category: El Libro de Lila by Marcela Rincón González; La defensa del dragon by Natalia Santa; Matar a Jesús by Laura Mora and Alonso Torres; Virus tropical by Enrique Lozano.

In the category of Best Actress: Marcela Benjumea for Amalia la secretaria; Fabiana Medina for La sargento Matacho; Diana Pérez for Sal and Juliana Betancourth for Virginia casta.

The leading men in the Best Actor category: Enrique Carriazo (‘Amalia la secretaria’); Jorge Herrera (El juego del ahorcado); Juan Pablo Barragán (La sargento Matacho); Alexander Betancur (Siete Cabezas) and Jose Ángel Bichir (Virginia casta).

For Best Art Direction: El Libro de Lila by Tatiana Espitia López and Daniel Murillo; La defensa del dragón by Marcela Gómez; Sal by Marcela Gómez; Siete cabezas by Ramsés Benjumea; Virus tropical by Paola Gaviria.

Photography is an essential part of great filmmaking and for Best Cinematography, the 2018 nominees are Nicolás Van Hemelryck (Amazona); Nicolás Ordóñez and Iván Herrera (La defensa del dragón); James L. Brown (Matar a Jesús); David Gallego (Sal).

Two contenders are vying for the 2018 Best Animated Feature award: El libro de Lila by Fosfenos Media and Virus Tropical by Timbo Estudio.

In the Best Original Soundtrack line-up are Amazona – Camilo Sanabria; El Libro de Lila – Juan Andrés Otálora; La sargento Matacho – Alejandro Ramírez Rojas; Virus tropical – Adriana García Galán

Best Documentary: Amazona by Casatarantula; Poner a actuar pájaros – Erwin Goggle, Señorita María, La Falda De La Montaña – Amanda Sarmiento.

The Best Supporting Actresses of Colombian film are Patricia Tamayo (Amalia la secretaria), Carmenza Cossio (Matar a Jesús), Marcela Carvajal (Virginia Casta); Cristina Umaña (Virginia casta).

For Best Supporting Actor are Fabio Rubiano (Amalia la secretaria); Camilo Escobar (Matar a Jesús); Francisco Bolívar (Nadie sabe para quién trabaja); Aldemar Correa (Virginia casta).

Audiences across Colombia will be able to enjoy the live broadcast on Canal Capital starting at 6 pm when the bright lights of Colombian film receive their Macondo, and night when the magic and real come together on the red carpet.